Look Back in Anger

About eight months ago, on a trip to the city I love, Bombay or Mumbai (you can choose the name you prefer), I happened to stay for two days in Town, or South Bombay, after a very long time. You realise that as you grow older, you can no longer stay in this part of the city because either all your friends have houses in ‘Bandruh’, BKC and beyond, or because any decent place to stay is too expensive. The one exception, however, is Gordon House hotel, whose hard mattress gave my sore lower back much relief.

This particular trip was for a friend’s baby shower that was being held in Colaba, and so a weekend at Gordon House in the middle of the Bombay Monsoon brought back many memories. As I passed by my school, just some 200 metres away from the hotel, I was washed over, besides the humidity, by a wave of memories from the four years I spent there. No, this is not a travel related post, but one about a journey I started in 2001.

If you read the tab “About the Scorpion” on the opening page of this blog, you will find that my heart and soul is in Bombay. But that wasn’t always the case. My first year in the city was hell. We had a matchbox for a home, in contrast to our spacious Delhi flat, located in what was supposed to be a posh locality, but was in fact a cacophonous arterial road in SoBo. But what made it worse was having to survive in the harshest of environments that a quiet and shy child of eleven and a half could have to endure. And I wasn’t the worst off at school, other new girls had it really bad. Being significantly taller than most and having, what is now known in popular culture as a “resting bitch face”, prevented the “mean girls” of the class from saying anything to me directly, but these attributes were also the subject of ridicule and jokes behind my back, that nobody really made any effort to keep away from my auditory range.

I am often told by my peers that on first glance, they find me intimidating, and so over the years as I have opened up to my friends, they have been shocked to discover that I too have been the target of bullying in school. I spent my initial school years in Delhi, where I went from being a cheerful and chubby kindergartener to a reserved, quiet but self-confident middle school child, all the while in the company of friendly classmates.

Which is why my first year in school in Bombay was almost traumatic. Some of the girls (and I say some because most were largely indifferent) treated me like I didn’t exist, made fun of the fact that I instinctively spoke in Hindi (even though my English was as good as any of theirs, if not better), and started rumours about me being a lesbian. I didn’t even know at that age what that meant, and when I discovered the meaning, I was internally horrified, but outwardly stoic, as anyone who had zero understanding of the gender spectrum and sexuality would probably be. Crying at school was not an option, because there was nobody to even console me. One girl asked me one day, out of the blue, “Are you a version?” “A version of what?” I asked in return. She meant “virgin”. That silly girl didn’t even know how to pronounce the word she wanted to deploy to embarrass me. All this in seventh grade.

The way a person looked, whether they threaded their facial hair, whether their hair was straight or frizzy or curly or crimped, whether their top button was open or closed, whether their socks were rolled all the way down, whether their skirt was worn low enough but was short enough in length, everything determined whether you were “cool” or a “loser”. Some of the girls were sweet to me individually, but turned into something else around their gang. One of the girls, who didn’t even belong to the core gang of bullies, one day came up to me and told me that she didn’t want to be friends with me because she didn’t like my face and believed I was a snob. I hadn’t really asked her to be friends. Or was that the problem? In my defence, I was recovering from the shock of being called a snob just because I came from Delhi and was a girl of few words.

Added to this trauma was the fact that for the first time in my life, I could not understand the math that was being taught. A change from CBSE to SSC meant a complete re-orientation of concepts. That was the only time in my academic life, I came close to failing an exam. Never again, I told myself.

Things only began to look up in my second year at this “still new” school. A new subject was added to my course, French, and I finally found something I excelled at. And even THAT was somehow a reason for ridicule. Some girl even went on to tell me how German was a superior language and French was shit. Basically I couldn’t do anything right, even minding my own business was a problem. This pattern of bullying repeated itself in more disturbing proportions with some girls who joined school after me.

But in life, as in geopolitics, to deal with bullies you need to find like-minded friends, and it was this group of kind friends that finally brought me the safe space that I had been seeking in that terrible year, 2001-02. Some of these friends are still among the closest ones I have, and even though the others have drifted away from me, I will always be thankful to them for making me realise that nothing was wrong with me, that my innocence was nothing to be ashamed of.

And yet, the bullying had done its damage. I had grown up to be an under-confident, bitter and pessimistic teenager, and by the time I passed out of school in 2005, I had lost all ability to make new friends.

But as my mother often tells me, I am a lucky person. I went to a college that let me be myself, where my friends looked out for me, and went to great lengths to see my rare smile. And five years later, I was still a pessimist, but had grown out of my bitterness and lack of confidence. It didn’t matter what language I spoke, Hindi, English or French, my friends, and even most of my classmates, made me feel valued. I finally felt “seen”.

When I look back at those nine years in Bombay, I realise what a roller-coster my personality has been. I don’t recognise myself, and that isn’t even a bad thing. The school experience also taught me a few things, for sure. Never doubt your capabilities. Have a thick skin. And most importantly, respond to bullying with stoic kindness and strong friendships.

As I said, I am a lucky person, but many young children are not. They struggle with bullies throughout their school years with no recourse or remedy. But my generation of parents now has the responsibility to make sure that we teach our children to be kind, to stand up to bad behaviour and help those who find it hard to defend themselves.

If I were to share this with the girls who treated my like I was a plague bearing rat, they probably wouldn’t even realise it. Worse still, they’ll call it petty. But having spoken to multiple classmates over the years, I understood that I was not the only one who was made to feel less about themselves.

And so I write this in solidarity with other victims of bullying, no matter the degree or form. You were not alone. You never will be.

55 thoughts on “Look Back in Anger

  1. Aspirant

    This post really hits home for me. I have been bullied almost all my life and unfortunately I’m still suffering from under confidence and lack of self belief. People bullied me about my color , my curly hair , my height( being short) , me being skinny and a lot more and most of the time they’ll come up and say it to me directly. And I never got a friend to rescue me from it so I silently suffered through it all and due to all this I still don’t feel good about myself even though years have passed. I have completely transformed into a silent, shy, under confident person from a confident, hyperactive extrovert. Its really unfortunate how these bullies never realize that their actions affect us so much mentally and emotionally that recovering from it seems impossible. I have forgotten my old vibrant personality my family always ask me to go back to. I don’t know how to recover from it but I’m dealing with it one day at a time. Thank you so much mam for speaking out about this. It really feels good to know that I’m not alone.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. abhi

    I’ve an RBF and I rarely smile. I didn’t know women can be this mean to each other too. Thank you for opening up ma’am. If I get selected, i’d love to meet you someday.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nivedita N

    What a lovely write up. It felt like my own story while reading it, the emotions just as raw. Will make my daughter read it when she grows up. Also, I am truly sorry what you had to suffer.
    Big Hug for the 11 year old Petal.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ginny Weasley

    I usually come here for the travelogues and IFS related write-ups. But this had me wishing for more of such diverse themes.
    About the bullying, I’m glad that you wrote about this Petal ma’am. I’ll make sure my sister reads this when she hits her adolescent years. This kind of write-ups should be included in the curriculum of all boards, I think.
    After reading this, I could really visualize your journey from those days to now with a new perspective.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Akul

    Happy to read this ma’am! Thank you for sharing with us. This write-up actually reminds me that even behind the ‘picture-perfect’ life of people we don’t know enough about, are fair share of bad times, along with good ones of course. I would also be glad to know: what was your first brush with UPSC and the IFS? When did you decide that this is what you want to pursue? Can you recall what went into your thought process about the IFS as a student, before you actually entered the UPSC journey?

    Like

    1. I think it happened stage by stage. During graduation I decided to attempt the Civil Services Exam but didn’t make up my mind about the service I wanted to join. It was during my Masters that I realised that International Relations really interested me and diplomacy would be a suitable profession. And finally by the time I finished my Masters I was convinced about what I wanted to do. I hope this answers your question.

      Like

      1. Akul

        Right … Thank you ma’am! Just one more question: do you think bad experiences actually help you to do better in life? I mean, after we go through something like you’ve shared, it fills us up with a zeal to prove ourselves, to ourselves more than others, like “this is definitely not who I am”. And this is something that takes root regardless of our age.

        Like

      2. I think it depends on the environment, whether there are any other enabling factors. In my case, my friends and family have always been a positive force for me, but if a person has no avenue to counterbalance the bad experience, it would be difficult to find motivation. The human mind is complex, however, and I am no expert so I cannot say with certainty. But yes, even a small gesture of kindness towards a person can help them, without us even realising it.

        Like

  6. Anon

    Hi. Idk ig you will be able to answer this or not but had to ask someone in MEA –

    If there are some jobs available in Embassies of certain India-friendly countries – eg: Social media, digital communication, etc (basically Public Diplomacy team) which require around 2-3 years of experience in the media field, should I, as an aspirant of IFS, apply for these jobs? My concern is that it could hamper selection into the service or maybe even postings in these countries due to some kind of conflict of interest.

    Your advise, or if you can ask around.

    Like

  7. GS

    Thank you. This will help many other who are looking for answers to bullying. It sure can be challenging and confusing, no matter the age or place.

    Are those peonies in the header?
    Love this written piece.
    Please take care.

    Like

  8. Deepanshu

    Hi mam, your blogs have always been source to inspiration for me to pursue my IFS dream and I just wanted to share that I cleared this year’s prelims and hope to join you soon in IFS.
    Thank you for always inspiring me mam.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Happy Soul

    Hello Ma’am. Good Morning
    Ma’am I have a question.

    Are IFS officers allowed to keep their Parents with them during their entire abroad posting period on their own expenses, if the parents are “Retired Govt Employees, not dependent on the Officer but the IFS officer is their only child”?

    Is there any complication in getting such approvals/VISA (for parents) from Government of India?

    Kindly reply. Thank you ma’am.

    Like

  10. Happy Soul

    Ma’am one more question..

    1. Govt of India doesn’t bear the cost of medical expenses of Parents (not dependent on the officer) of the IFS officers posted abroad.
    Then how the officers deal with the huge medical expenses in that case in the developed countries ? specially in USA like countries ?

    2. Is there any Govt health insurance plan for the parents (not dependent on the officers) ? (when they’re staying abroad with the officer)

    Kindly reply. Thank you

    Like

  11. Ankit

    Hello Ma’am, i have some questions regarding the upsc exam- 1) for any other departmental exam of upsc like example indian engineering service exam , cds exam do i have to mention the deatils in the upsc mains daf- 1 if only fill up the forms but dnt appear in the exam hall ? 2)and for appearing any departmental exam of upsc do i have to mention details in the upsc mains daf- 1 ? and both the case scenario is there any kind of negavtive impact in the interview and for the final selection ? 3)and is the laminated documents and certificates are accepated by upsc ?

    Like

  12. B

    Hi Mam. I have been reading your blog since years, have asked queries in the past. You have always been so encouraging and positive and most importantly, accessible to all of us. I have finally cracked the exam and allotted the IRS (IT), writing mains again this year for rank improvement. Wanted to thank you for writing this blog, helping many in the journey. I wish you the best for your new assignment at NYC. Eagerly waiting for a blog on this shift. Thanks again. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Prasidhi

    Mam congratulations on your new assignment at the United Nations
    Was this your first choice and are postings based on luck , or one’s choice are taken care of always?
    Mam is the IFS officials salary sufficient to lead a comfortable life abroad, provide financial assistance to parents and still significant savings can be made?
    If you could tell that how much percent of the salary an indian diplomat living with family leading a comfortable life save?

    Like

    1. Hi, thanks and this was among my top preferences, yes.
      Yes we are paid well enough to lead a comfortable life abroad.
      I’m not sure what percentage can be saved but savings are possible for sure.

      Like

  14. smit

    Hello!
    1. Have been reading your blog for a while and watching you (and Vipin) in the shots with PM and Biden/Putin/Macron/King/Ursula von der Leyen (and Mathieu Flamini!!! (at Bastille day)) and so many more leaders, have to tell you that I’m super jealous of you but at the same time getting inspired. I’m sure many more people do this as well and have more ‘access’ but anyway, keep on making people a mix of jealous-inspiration! CANNOT WAIT to do the same but for this crazy exam! You and Ben Rhodes are an inspiration.

    2. Since you write blogs and have been around for a while in FS, could you write one on ways for someone to participate in IR other that government service/bureaucracy? Some other than just working for think-tanks like ORF/Brookings/CSEP? I’m sure you must have interacted/heard of some people who actually work in the field and not just read that as a ‘career opportunity’ on websites. (been there, done that)

    3. A blog in the future on why institutions like the UN are relevant today? From a practising diplomat, getting an insight on the benefits of UN and other multilateral institutes could be super interesting (this is not for my mains answer, i swear)

    If any of this isn’t interesting enough or you cannot talk about it, issok. Thank you!

    Like

    1. 1. Thanks and all the best!
      2. You can teach IR, if that interests you. But besides that, I don’t know of many other opportunities.
      3. I’m still new to multilateralism but I will try my hand at it at some point for sure. Thanks for the suggestion!

      Like

  15. HARSHITH GOVADA

    Ma’am,
    I have a query regarding Language Trainees aka third secretaries, while they are undergoing CFL training are they provided accommodation just like second secretaries, so that they stay in the same property while transitioning from third to second secretary or do they have to stay in University hostels?

    Thank you.

    Like

  16. Shayar ki Gali

    Ma’am,

    Completely relate with your experience. I’ve also faced bullying by girls in class 7. When you mentioned abt how rolling of socks and manner of wearing skirts made you cool, it felt like you were telling my story. I was friends with 1-2 boys and behind my back, those girls joked that they were my bfs.

    Anyways, I’m preparing for UPSC CSE, with a slight inclination towards IFS, still not sure though. So some queries reg the service-
    1) Is interest in international politics and learning languages good enough to imagine a career in IFS? What considerations should be kept in mind before choosing IFS?

    2) Due to less information available about life in IFS compared to that in other services, people tend to say all sorts of things. A coaching teacher once said that one’s food habits can create issues in IFS. Like, in party or meeting with foreign dignitaries, one has to take alcohol even if they don’t want to. He said this is the reason people regret getting in IFS. Is it true?

    Like

    1. 1. Yes, absolutely. You will be fine.
      2. There are plenty of vegetarians who are very successful diplomats, this coaching teacher clearly doesn’t know enough IFS officers and is casting aspersions based on fantasy.

      Like

      1. Shayar ki Gali

        Thank you so much Ma’am for your reply! 🙏
        Also, I read in news about your response in the recent UNGA session. Congratulations for the same!

        Like

  17. vermaaditi414

    Mam if ” yes ” does it mean that they don’t have the compulsion to spend two third of their career abroad and only one third in India at MEA as l have heard . They can maintain a balance between alternate abroad and Mea postings . If they want , right?

    Like

  18. Aakash Saharan

    Do diplomatic passport holders need a visa for the country they are visiting or does the passport suffice?

    If there are any rules in this regard, please explain.

    Like

Leave a comment